Song Analysis

Song Structures:

Mile Run

Lyrics

Electric shocks they shake my core,

And we will run for miles,

By the river that has fallen to disrepair,

We will break the laws of us.

Find the light in us (find a light)

Find a light in who we are

Let us try something thats not been done,

And we will run for miles and miles,

Peeling our skin to see whats underneath,

We are nothing we’re just bones

Find a light (find a light in who we are)

Find a light in who we are (find a light)

Find a light in us

Find a light in who we are (we are nothing we’re just bones)

Find a light in us,

Find a light in who we are.

Inspiration

Mile run was inspired by unrequited love, feeling and knowing that although you could look into the deepest flaws of your character and personality (peeling our skin) you could never be good enough and get the reciprocation you believed you deserved.

Structure

A, B, A, B, C, A, B

A – Verse

B – Chorus

C – Bridge

Harmonic Analysis

Key of G Phrygian

Verse – vocals over a bass line in G Phrygian

Chorus – Eb – F – C – Gb – Bb – F

bVI – bVII – IV – bII – bIII – bVII

Bridge is the same as chorus.

Scotty’s Got a Gun

Lyrics

Your love is like a loaded gun,

cocked back and you’re ready for fun,

can you feel my heart beating,

faster and faster,

a loaded shotgun babe,

is what you really need,

a bullet through my brains,

would bring me to my knees,

Run for cover, shes coming to get you,

she gets what she wants.

Bang bang, its a loaded gun,

she’ll take you down and its just for fun,

bang bang goes another one,

she’ll take you down, just for fun

hey. she won’t hesitate,

she’ll take you down, she’ll take you down

she’s on the remake, bang, bang.

When I first met you darling,

you shot me down in flames,

guess its part of your wicked games

don’t be fooled by her eyes,

she’ll get you every time,

she is a demon in disguise

Bang bang, its a loaded gun,

she’ll take you down and its just for fun,

bang bang goes another one,

she’ll take you down, just for fun

she won’t hesitate,

she’ll take you down, she’ll take you down

she’s on the remake, bang, bang, bang.

Inspiration 

This is another track written about love and lust, about a temptress who everyone is besotted by. When I first tried to seduce her she (shot me down in flames) and despite this I endeavoured. She takes you down for the sake of being able to do so, toying with emotions and feelings, the bang bang bang being written simply as a catchy hook.

Structure

A, B, C, A, B, C, D

A – Intro

B – Verse

C – Chorus

D – Outro/Solo

Harmonic Analysis

Key of A

A section: V – I – VI – V

V – I – VI – IV

B section: V – IV-III-IV

V – IV-I

Pre-chorus – III – IV – V

Chorus: V – I – iii – I

II – iii – I – V

Outro – solo over E (V)

Glass of Wine:

Lyrics

1, 2, 3, 4.

Looking through the eyes of the hourglass,

looking through the eyes of another,

everybody’s different, everybody wonders what to do,

through the eyes of my mother,

I’m right denying my father, but who is he to decide, mistaken right.

And I decide to let you go, for me, for her, (’cause I was better of without you)

and I decide to close that door on you, for me, for her. (’cause I was better of without you),

I decide to change my name, to change,

change the way you play your stupid game,

I have nothing left to say, nothing,

nothing left to for you to touch, to hurt,

she is scared of you, she’s scared to say,

you are her worst fear.

We decide to say goodbye, to say,

we don’t need you anymore.

And I decide to let you go, for me, for her, (’cause I was better of without you)

and I decide to close that door on you, for me, for her. (’cause I was better of without you),

I just take classes, I just take classes, I’ll never regret, I’ll never forget,

I just take classes, I just take classes, I’ll never regret, I’ll learn to forget.

Leave me alone (leave me alone) X5

Structure

A, A, B, C, D, E, C, C, F

A – Intro/first verse

B – Pre-chorus

C – Chorus

D – Interim

E – 5/4 second verse

F – Outro

Harmonic Analysis

Key is C#minor

The A section variates between C#Major7 to C#add9. AMajor7 to AMajoradd9. The riff based B section is: C# drops chromatically to C natural.

Power chords – Db5 – C5 – Bb5

Stabs are same progression as listed above

5/4 sections are Db then C.

Outro is Db – Ab – Eb

Inspiration 

This is written about a father who leaves, and subsequently terrifies his son but more specially his daughter (she’s scared to say – you are her worst fear). It’s about how he decides to remove him from his life. I wrote this looking back at how the lead singer of my band suffered through these problems.

 

Time

Lyrics

There was a time that I needed you,

That time has passed now and I can see through,

The type of person you’ve turned out to be,

I don’t need you, don’t need you no more,

I’m my own man now I’ve shut you out,

My mind is clearer and I have no doubt

That you still blame me for all thats gone wrong,

I don’t need you, don’t need you no more

My past, is my past,

and that’s just where you’ll stay,

there’s no return for you,

I don’t need you, don’t need you no,

You know you don’t know me now, know me now,

You know you don’t know me now, know me now,

You’ll never know me now, know me now,

You’ll never know,

And I won’t, let you,

place blame on the innocence,

your time has come, your time has come, your time has come

You know you don’t know me now, know me now,

You know you don’t know me now, know me now,

You’ll never know me now, know me now,

You’ll never know,

You know you don’t know me now, know me now,

You know you don’t know me now, know me now,

You’ll never know me now, know me now,

You’ll never know.

Structure

A, B, C, D, C, D, E, D, A

A – intro

B – Verse part 1

C – Verse part 2

D – Chorus

E – Bridge

 

Groundhog Day

Lyrics

Broken nights to rebuy,

broken lights go straight in my eyes, on repeat,

To many nights I lay there,

(to be finished)

Leave a Reply

